Our Board

Our Board



Janine Ubink (Leiden University, the Netherlands)

Past Presidents

Geert van den Steenhoven
Marc Galanter
Gordon Woodman
Harald Finkler
Keebet von Benda-Beckmann
Anne Griffiths
Maarten Bavinck

Executive Secretary

Helen Dancer (University of Sussex, UK)

Board 2021– 2023

Jennifer Corrin (The University of Queensland, Australia)

Marie-Claire Foblets (Max Planck Institute, Halle, Germany)     

Armando Guevara-Gil (Universidad para el Desarrollo Andino, Perú)                              

Chuma Himonga (University of Zambia)                 

René Kuppe (University of Vienna, Austria)   

Natalya Novikova (Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology, RAS, Russia)                                          

Ghislain Otis (University of Ottawa, Canada)

Devanathan Parthasarathy (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay)      

Christa Rautenbach (North-West University, South Africa)

Alison Dundes Renteln (University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA) 

Rachel Sieder (Center for Research and Graduate Studies in Social Anthropology, Mexico)

Indira Simbolon (Asian Development Bank, Philippines)           

Masami Mori Tachibana (Kyoto Bunkyo University, Japan)       

Bertram Turner (Max Planck Institute, Halle, Germany)          

Patricia Urteaga (Universidad Catolica de Lima, Peru)                                

Ulrike Wanitzek (University of Bayreuth, Germany)                

Markus Weilenmann (Office for Conflict Research in Developing Countries, Switzerland)   

Werner Zips (University of Vienna, Austria)

Ex Officio Members

Maarten Bavinck (Past President, University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands)

Keebet von Benda-Beckmann (Past President, Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology, Germany)

Anne Griffiths (Past President, University of Edinburgh, UK)

Dik Roth (on behalf of Legal Pluralism and Critical Social Analysis, Wageningen University, the Netherlands)

Janine Ubink (Current President, Leiden University, the Netherlands)

Melanie Wiber (on behalf of Legal Pluralism and Critical Social Analysis, University of New Brunswick, Canada)  

Commission on Legal Pluralism

Commission on Legal Pluralism

& Unofficial Law

Read more about Our Constitution

Our Constitution

Constitution Commission on Legal Pluralism

Read more about  Our Board

Our Board

Board Commission on Legal Pluralism

Read more about Our Executive Body

Our Executive Body

Executive Body Commission on Legal Pluralism

commission-on-legal-pluralism.com © 2023 | Disclaimer